Sehwag, Sardar in12-member selection panel for National Sports Awards


Former India cricketer Virender Sehwag and hockey stalwart Sardar Singh had been on Friday integrated in a 12-member committee constituted via the sports activities ministry to make a choice this yr’s National Sports Awards winners.

Just like remaining yr, the ministry opted for a unmarried selection committee to pick out the awardees amongst each athletes and coaches and it’s going to be headed via Retired Supreme Court Justice, Mukundakam Sharma.

Also there within the panel is Paralympic silver-medallist Deepa Malik.

“This year too we are continuing with the idea of one selection committee for all the awards as we feel too many committees will only make things difficult and create controversies,” a Sports Ministry supply informed PTI.

The different individuals of the committee come with former desk tennis participant Monalisa Baruah Mehta, boxer Venkatesan Devarajan in addition to sports activities commentator Manish Batavia and newshounds Alok Sinha and Neeru Bhatia.

The nationwide sports activities awards are given away yearly on August 29, the start anniversary of hockey icon Dhyan Chand.

The panel can even have illustration from the Sports Ministry, together with Sports Authority of India Director General Sandip Pradhan, Joint Secretary (Sports Development) L S Singh and Target Olympic Podium Scheme (TOPS) CEO Rajesh Rajagopalan.

“Two additional members who have been Dronacharya Awardees may be invited by the Chairperson while considering the nomination for Dronacharya Award,” a sports activities ministry free up mentioned.

This yr the awards serve as may well be behind schedule via a month or two as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic however a last choice at the subject continues to be awaited.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.