3 National Sports Award winners test positive for COVID, not to attend virtual ceremony: SAI


Three winners of this 12 months’s National Sports Awards, together with badminton participant Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, have examined positive for COVID-19 and can not attend the virtual rite on August 29, the Sports Authority of India (SAI) stated on Thursday. The SAI stated that 65 of the 74 awardees will attend the first-ever virtual National Sports Awards from its centres around the nation due to the pandemic.

“There are 74 awards in seven categories. Total 65 award winners will be attending the function from various locations, Nine award winners will not attend due to several reasons like being quarantined, tested positive, ill health or not in the country etc,” the SAI stated in a commentary.

“Three award winners after having tested positive will not attend the function,” it added with out giving any names. However, Satwiksairaj previous showed his positive test whilst speaking to PTI. The nation will honour an exceptional 5 Khel Ratna winners and 27 Arjuna awardees amongst others.

The 5 selected for the best possible honour are cricketer Rohit Sharma, wrestler Vinesh Phogat, Paralympian Mariyappan Thangavelu, TT participant Manika Batra and girls’s hockey captain Rani Rampal. The SAI additional stated all well being and protection protocols, maintaining with the ideas of the Health Ministry, are being adopted on the venues the place dignitaries and awardees shall be provide.

“Further, the Sports Ministry has advised every award winner to undergo a COVID-19 19 test before reporting to the venue. All centers have been thoroughly sanitised and arrangements have been made to ensure social distancing during the awards function,” it stated. President Ram Nath Kovind will provide the awards to the winners in virtual mode.

In the virtual layout, President Kovind shall be attending from the President’s space, by means of video conferencing, whilst the recipients shall be provide at SAI centres in more than a few places around the nation. Sports Minister Kiren Riju and different officers of the ministry and dignitaries shall be found in Vigyan Bhawan for the award rite. The programme shall be telecast continue to exist Doordarshan.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *